#SheSharesTruth: Jonah 3&4

For background information on why I am writing this post click here and read the first part.

This week we are digging into the second half of the Book of Jonah, read chapter 3 and 4 here.

Chapter three is the repentance and redemption story of the Ninevites. Jonah warns them of the wrath of God that is coming and their response is wildly unexpected and truly amazing; “And the people of Nineveh believed God. They called for a fast and put on sackcloth, from the greatest of them to the least of them.” (Jonah 3:5) Just like that. They don’t hesitate, they don’t make excuses, they believe in God and they turn away from their evil ways. Just like that. Hallelujah!

The repentance of a whole city is great, but we don’t see Jonah rejoicing, quite the opposite actually, he is angry. Although we may not exactly get angry with God for saving ‘the wicked’, I think we do a whole lot of judging who could or couldn’t, should or shouldn’t be saved. We look at our neighbor or coworker or family member and think, “Surely not him or her”. We (like Jonah) run in the opposite direction when God asks us to share the Gospel with someone we don’t think deserves it. Jonah didn’t just run because Nineveh was a terrifying place, no he ran because he didn’t want God to save them. “That is why I made haste to flee to Tarshish; for I knew that you are a gracious God and merciful, slow to anger and abounding in steadfast love, and relenting from disaster.” (Jonah 4:2)

Guess what? None of us deserve grace. You don’t either. Did you know that’s what grace means? Undeserved favor. We don’t get to decide that someone is too sinful or too far away from God. We just get to share God’s word and leave the rest up to Him.

Jonah is a man of extremes, he goes from being exceedingly displeased and angry when God spares Nineveh to being exceedingly glad when God provides a plant for shade (which he also takes away from him again). And when God asks the (rhetorical) question “Do you do well to be angry for the plant?” (Jonah 4:9) Jonah’s answer? “Yes, I do well to be angry, angry enough to die.” Emotional much? Angry enough to die? Really, Jonah, really? Sounds a little dramatic.

And still, I think I can be put in the category of ‘short fused’, it doesn’t take a lot to make me frustrated but it does take me a while to calm back down. I get frustrated when things don’t go the way I expect. I get frustrated with my circumstances, with God, with myself, with my husband or my daughter. I can get pretty pouty, because obviously it will never get better. Ever. *insert sarcasm*

It’s so easy to read about Jonah and see how obvious the answer to God’s question is. But somehow not so much in our own life. So when I was reading this sentence today: “Do you do well to be angry?” God showed up, and he called me out. Because of course the answer is a loud resounding NO, not in the least. Jonah wants to be angry, he feels like he has every right to. And I realized, that that’s exactly how I feel. I want to be angry, I keep a tight grip on ‘my right’ to be angry with whatever situation I am in. But the truth is I have no right to be angry. The only right I have is to be thankful. thankful that I have been saved, not because I deserved to be saved but because I serve a merciful God.

“For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works, so that no one may boast.” (Ephesians 2:8-9)

 

2 thoughts on “#SheSharesTruth: Jonah 3&4

  1. It is so interesting that Jonah didn’t flee because he was afraid. He fled because he felt that the Ninevites were not “worthy.”
    I know I do the same about sharing the Lord with others. Praise the Lord that He is more powerful, and reveals himself with or without our help!

Leave a Reply

