Day 28: Gardening

I’ve been wanting to write a post about our new vegetable garden, I know I mentioned it in a post a couple of weeks ago, the same post where i promised to post more frequently for my 365 Days project. So here it finally is, the 28th post about gardening (well the first post about gardening, but the 28th post in the series.)

I am constantly trying to make my home more of a Home, and one of my efforts have been starting a vegetable garden. We have a big backyard and there is more than enough space for the garden, we have even been able to fit a swing set, a sand box and a fire pit, and still have room to put up a party tent, in case we wanted to throw a party for Magnolia’s first birthday or something, in the summer.

There are a few reasons for wanting a garden 1) it’s a project I can keep working on 2) it’s a way to save money on vegetables 3) fresh-out-of-the-ground-carrots are just tastier than ones that have been laying around for weeks.

So far I don’t have any vegetables to show off, but I promise to make updates once I see progress. I do however have before and after pictures that I would love to share.

photo 1

This is the area that I had picked out for the garden.

photo 2

This is how far I got with digging out the grass before I had to ask for help my dad to do the rest. Who knew digging up grass was that hard?

photo 3

All in an afternoon. My Dad is a machine. This also displays the four new berry bushes, two black currant and two red currant, that my Mom helped me plant. (They were also a gift from her – She is a very generous woman.)

photo 4

Iceberg lettuce, spinach, arugula and carrots so far. Still waiting to sow green beans, snow peas, sugar snaps, potatoes, zucchini and beets.

photo 5

And last but not least, just to give you an idea of how long our yard is, the view from the garden to the house. With the new swing set on the left.

I am really excited to see all these little lovelies start sprouting and for this spring project to take form.

What are your spring projects? I would love to hear about it in the comments.

16 thoughts on “Day 28: Gardening

  1. Your garden looks great! I wish we had more of a yard to grow a garden. Are you and your husband from Denmark or are you Americans/Canadians living over there? I watched your husband’s video and he didn’t seem to have an accent.

    • Hi Lauren,

      Thanks for stopping by and thanks for your kind words. I just checked the garden today – only one sprout so far, I guess it’s just a waiting game, huh? I am from Denmark and my husband is an American living here because of me πŸ™‚ He will say I don’t have an accent either, though I know it shines through when I am tired and not very focused.

  2. Looks so fun! I wish I had a gardening gene of some sort, but I am a born and bread city girl! Also, I saw that you live in Denmark, how fun! We are currently living in Bangkok, just moved last summer!

  3. hey camilla, i LOVE your back yard!!! we had a garden at our house in america, and digging up grass is no joke – which is why our garden was pretty small to start with. but i really loved going out and getting vegetables every day!

  4. That is so awesome! I hope to have a garden someday. I’m in an apartment right now so it’s not really an option, but I’m trying to figure out a way to start a small herb garden! This is really cool and I’m so excited for you to harvest your own veggies! πŸ™‚

    • An herb garden is such a good place to start – I’ve tried several times but always end up forgetting to water them and then they die. That’s the beauty of outside, God takes care of the watering! I am really excited for the harvesting too πŸ™‚

  5. Looks great! It is so wet here that my planting days are delayed. 😦 A friend of mine made garden markers with paint stir sticks. She painted the sticks white and then wrote on them with a different color paint. They turned out so cute and cheap!

  6. Oh love this! Glad to have found you from Influence! I am a big fan of gardening as well and excited about the projects I have in the works too! Happy harvesting to you this spring & summer!

  7. Your garden it taking shape! So exciting! I have a square-foot garden from last year and it’s still waiting. Dormant. Good idea with the labels too. I procrastinated this part and I couldn’t quite remember what was what (especially in the areas that didn’t grow).

    • I’ve learned from my Mom’s experience that not labeling (especially in a big garden) is to your own detriment. Especially since arugula and spinach can look quite similar – but they taste way different! Thanks for stopping by and leaving me a comment πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

